Home Inspection – Heater Flue Disconnected

August 27, 2015 by  
Filed under Inspection Defects: Photos & Videos

The flue piping is disconnected allowing toxic carbon monoxide gas to enter the attic and possibly the home.  This was found during a home inspection in phoenix.

 

VIDEO: Home Inspection Broken Roof Truss

January 29, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspecting with the Inspector

Several broken factory-built roof truss members in the attic:

These load paths must also be properly connected to prevent unwanted movement/separation. Truss repairs must be stipulated and supervised by a state licensed truss engineer. Recommend further evaluated by a truss structural engineer with a engineering stamped of his/her findings and recommendations.

Defects found during a home inspection in the Phoenix Arizona valley area.

VIDEO: Home Inspection Counterfeit – Fire Hazard

January 29, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspecting with the Inspector

Counterfeit Square D Circuit Breakers that have been recalled.

The counterfeit circuit breakers found during the home inspection are black and are marked as Square D products. Actual Square D circuit breakers have (a) the amp rating written on the handle in white paint on the front of the breaker; (b) the Square D insignia molded onto the breaker side, and; (c) a yellow chromate mounting clip with half of the top of the clip visible. Hazard: The recalled circuit breakers labeled “Square D” are counterfeit and could fail to trip when they are required to, posing a fire hazard to consumers.

VIDEO: Home Inspection AC Unit Wiring Alert

January 29, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspecting with the Inspector

The air conditioner service disconnect braided wiring has several strands of wiring not inside the connector. This decreases the gauge size of the wire and increases the amount of current through the remaining wires.  This was found during a typical phoenix valley area home inspection.

Home Inspection – Loose Missing Roof Truss Gussets

January 27, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspecting with the Inspector

Portions of the factory-built truss system have been damaged, are missing their gussets, or are improperly installed.

Truss repairs must be stipulated and supervised by a state licensed truss engineer. Recommend further evaluated by a truss structural engineer with his/her findings, recommendations and engineering stamp. Written verification must be provided with all/any truss repairs.  This was found during a typical phoenix valley area home inspection.

All loads start at the roofs ridge and must transfer on an unbroken path through structural members or elements to the foundation. Many cracking problems, which are misinterpreted as “settling” are actually caused by broken load paths. These broken paths result in loads being carried by areas that were not designed to carry them.

Home Inspection – Missing Insulation

January 27, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspecting with the Inspector

The attic has areas of missing and/or unevenly spread insulation. Insufficient attic insulation causes the heating/cooling system to run excessively due to extreme temperature. The attic needs to be evenly insulated throughout to a value of R-30 or greater.  This was found during a typical phoenix valley area home inspection.

Home Inspection – A/C Ductwork Not Connected

January 27, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspecting with the Inspector

There is conditioned air coming out of a disconnected/abandoned duct in the attic. This will result in decreased operating efficiency (heating /cooling system is now undersized because of the added volume of the attic) and may shorten the systems service life.  This was found during a typical phoenix valley area home inspection.

 

Home Inspection – Broken Truss Member

January 27, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspection Defects: Photos & Videos

All loads start at the roofs ridge and must transfer on an unbroken path through structural members or elements to the foundation. Many cracking problems, which are misinterpreted as “settling” are actually caused by broken load paths. These broken paths result in loads being carried by areas that were not designed to carry them.

Truss repairs must be stipulated and supervised by a state licensed truss engineer. Recommend further evaluated by a truss structural engineer with his/her findings, recommendations and engineering stamp. Written verification must be provided with all/any truss repairs.  This was found during a typical phoenix valley area home inspection.

Home Inspection – Overheated Electrical Wiring

January 27, 2009 by  
Filed under Inspection Defects: Photos & Videos

Excessive heat at a circuit breaker connection (overheated wire) inside the electrical panel are commonly caused by either a component drawing more electrical current than the wire can handle or a loose connection. Recommend further evaluation and repairs by a competent licensed electrician.  This was found during a typical phoenix valley area home inspection.

These guys saved me money

January 12, 2009 by  
Filed under Testimonials

I needed a home inspection before my one year warrantee was up with my builder (I found several small things wrong with my home and I don’t even know what I am looking for). I didn’t like the guy my realtor suggested so I looked on KUDZU and found Canyon State Property Inspections.

All I can say is thanks KUDZU.

The builder was here for three days this week fixing all the things Steve found wrong with my home. I know he saved me several thousands of dollars worth of work I would have had to do (pay for) later after my warrantee expired because that’s when things go wrong, after the warranty expires.

Thank you Steve and I referred you to two of my neighbors that have their warranty expiring in February.

Bruce H.

Next Page »